Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to hear everyone's thoughts on how they zero their KS7, if at all. I've seen several YouTube videos about the subject and was quite surprised by the variety of methods. Having spent some time in the military, I had a preconceived notion on how to do it and was quite surprised to see folks zeroing with turkey shot instead of slugs.

I bought my KS7 for home defense. After my first trip to the range I found the carry handle sight very difficult to use in low light. I wasn't too terribly concerned because I'm new to shotguns and always thought of them as a "point and shoot" weapon. However, after a discussion with an army buddy, I was convinced to buy a red dot and some back up iron sights. If nothing else, they would make my range time more fun while I endeavor to become an expert on this weapon.

Once I had my KS7 rigged up, I went to the range believing I could zero my KS7 in a similar method to the way I had done it in the army. Take a look at this link here to see how we did it back then:

https://www.armystudyguide.com/cont...guide_topics/m16a2/zero-and-m16a2-rifle.shtml

I didn't have a military style zero target but my plan was to improvise with just a typical bullseye target. Up until that day, I had only used reduced recoil shells. Despite the numerous discussions in this forum about the KS7's recoil, I was still quite surprised at the kick of a slug. My shoulder is sore. I know it would have been even worse without the extended butt pad.