Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here's a photo of the 6 rounds of Hornady Critical Defense that I carry in my 1st magazine. I usually keep the pistol with one bullet in the chamber when I leave home. When I get back, I remove it and put it back on the top of my magazine. This has been sort of a ritual nearly every day of the week.

After about 2 months I have started to notice that the 1st round on top of my bullet stack seems seated deeper into the brass.

Will this keep on getting lower?
Is this dangerous?

I have no experience with reloading but I am worried about how it may affect pressure levels.

Attachments

·
Administrator
31,990 Posts
Yes. Repeatedly ejecting and reloading the same round can cause bullet setback. It could potentially lead to an over-pressured round. I would vary the procedure so that the same round is not used, and shoot your carry mag periodically to alleviate the potential problem.

·
Registered
4,318 Posts
Yes, constantly ejecting and rechambering a cartridge will often result in the bullet being "set back" in the case. This happens because, of course, the bullet is striking the feed ramp with some force. Not a problem normally, but when it is repeated many times, bullet set up results. This can be dangerous, since as the bullet is seated deeper in the case, pressures can/will rise and can become exceedingly high. Best to rotate chambered rounds, and not try to continually remove and rechamber a single round.

Jim R

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I read about this sometime back and I'm glad that bullet setback seems easy to spot with critical defense.

I'll remember to shoot these when I hit the range w/c I do at least 2x a month.

I'm sure that I'm not the only one who chambers & rotates ammo as often as I do. thank you guys!

·
Registered
5,567 Posts
Why not just keep it chambered?