Using "Snap Caps" in p3at p32& pf9.

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by HOME_MEANS_NEVADA, Oct 29, 2010.

1. HOME_MEANS_NEVADA

HOME_MEANS_NEVADA New Member

Oct 17, 2010
    I'm a newbie. I recently purchased a p3at. I have'nt shot it yet because of time and obligations.
    This Wedensday, November 3rd, gonna take it out in the desert for its inaugural shoot and will use American Eagle 95gr FMJ for target/break in etc. After reading other threads, I'm gonna get some other brands as well.
    I have been raised on the belife that you never dry shoot a gun and I never intentionally have.
    Maybe I'm living in the dark ages, but I never heard of Snap Caps until recently. Yesterday I picked up a pack of 5 for $16.99+ tax. Seemed rather pri$ey to me. I got them to test the trigger pull....and later drawing.
    Has anybody tried/used Snap Caps made by Lyman Products of Middletown, CT?

2. redjak

redjak New Member

May 19, 2010
    Yes, I have A-Zoom Snap Caps made by Lyman Products for my P-32 and P-11 . The Snap Caps allow me to practice and get used to the trigger pull. It improves my shooting when I practice with Snap Caps.

3. Ka6otm

Ka6otm New Member

Sep 12, 2007
    I also use A-Zoom snap caps. Got 'em in 9MM and .380ACP as well as 12 Gauge, 20 Gauge and .410 Bore.

I got into this brand as I was using Triple K snap caps in my shotguns and one day when the wife and I went Pheasant hunting, she broke open her 20 gauge to load it and told me I'd only put one snap cap in it.

I took a look and the plastic base had broken off on one of them and it was stuck in the barrel just past the chamber. If she'd put a round in and pulled the trigger, it would have probably blown up.

I threw away all the plastic snap caps that day and bought all new aluminum ones from A-Zoom and never looked back.

I advise anyone who's using plastic shotgun snap caps to ditch them before something bad happens.

4. gvaldeg1

gvaldeg1 New Member

Feb 8, 2008