Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Kel Tec and this forum. After a full year of searching I finely purchased a Gen 2 G-19 & 23 to replace our 12 Ga auto loader for home defense. On day one I put 265 rounds of 9mm through it with out even a hick up, the rounds included standard loads, +p and +p+. The next day with a sore and sensitive trigger finger, I inspected the trigger and found two places with sharp plastic burrs. After sanding the trigger smooth, my wife put 100 rounds thru the gun with no similar issues.
This is not a complaint, just an observation. I'm curious if anyone else has had a similar problem.

·
Registered
4,827 Posts
Welcome to the KTOG forum, Gashman. Don't run +P+ in any KelTec design. Period. Even +P is not a good idea on a regular basis. Read your owner's manual.

·
Registered
600 Posts
Yeah the feel of the triggers leave something to be desired. Buffing out the rough spots, especially the super sharp tip is standard. A piece of heat shrink might help as well.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Yes, the trigger comes out sharp, burred and not what I would call 'finished'. Needs a little work.

It's the most cheap feeling trigger I own including my kids BB and air soft stuff.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I did in fact sand out the burrs in a strange way I'm happy to hear others have had similar findings. So far as ammunition restrictions I re-read my manual and couldn't locate anything relating to that. The closest mention I could find was in the weapon description, "The Sub-2000 rifle is intended as a compliment to the handgun with which it would have full interchangeability in ammunition and magazines". (Pg5, Description) That makes it seem that since my EDC is a Glock 17 loaded with +P 9mm its being used as intended. If I missed something please advise.

·
Registered
4,827 Posts