Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It is an unpleasant task to think about; especially when you realize that someday, your heirs might be presented with a collection of your favorite weapons, tools and other related items about which they know very little. Think about it. Besides your guns and ammo and all the intimate details you know about them, what do your heirs know? Do they know where you bought them? Do they know how much you paid? What they're worth? A multitude of questions, really.

Frankly, I have what I think is a large collection that I hesitate to describe in numbers because of the 'optics' bias of our media and government. Each and every one legal and purchased or obtained legally, but there is still the media stigma of "horde, cache, arsenal, etc." you sometimes see in the news.

I've been collecting for over three decades, and for my own purposes developed a spreadsheet of important information about them Type, S/N, date purchased, from whom, cost, and anything else I wanted to tell whoever inherits them needs to know. In fact, I've linked each item's pertinent information to pictures, manuals and receipts in the database I keep on my computer. Even for the several items for which I have an extensive documented provenance all of this is on a CD I regularly update (see figure 1 as an example of part of it)

Text Font Line Software engineering Document

I've pretty much always kept both paper and computer records (one reason is today's gun store receipts are often printed on that thermal paper which definitely fades over time). So I scan them and then put them in several binders in transparent pocket holders. Each binder labeled, each file on the computer under folders that indicate receipts, manuals, parts items, trivia and related items. Now retired, I spend a good part of my day arranging, researching, cataloging and sorting just to keep up.