Some Chrono work at the range

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Apiarian, Feb 14, 2009.

1. Apiarian

Apiarian New Member

Jan 19, 2005
    ;D
    I had picked up a new Chrono and took advantage of the nicer weather yesterday. The results were interesting.

These were all out of a 2nd Gen P3AT temps were 45f.

I found one Fed Personal Defense 95gr and one Magtech Gold 85gr. The fed ran at 830fps while the Magtech ran 915fps. Not enough data for anything solid, but interesting in light of the following.

Santa Barbra 95gr
    ave 982fps
    I really expected around 1100fps as snappy as this round feels.

Finland Lapua 95gr
    ave 687fps
    A nice range round for the P3AT

CNC new loaded ammo 102gr Golden Saber
    ave 665fps
    This was a real shocker. I have been carrying this round for two years. It shoots very nice and functions perfectly. But at that velocity it is ONLY landing 100ftlbs energy!

I am now on a mission to develop the lowest flash, softest recoiling, hardest hitting 102gr GS round possible. Essentially this will revolve around the powder used. Different powders have different felt recoils in combination with various bullet weights. Basically this will require as many different low volume powders I can get my hands on from r-1 on the fast end to True Blue on the slow end. I don’t think with the short barrel anything slower is worth trying. If there is of any interest in suppling 1/8lb to 1/4lb of these type powders for this workup, let me know. If there is sufficient interest I’ll start another thread for this purpose.

2. Cubriver_Kid

Cubriver_Kid New Member

Aug 8, 2008
    I have been loading 380 with 3.5 gr HP38 and 90 gr hornady XTP, it has been working flawlessly, easy to shoot.  Now you have me wondering about the feet per second, I've been thinking about 850 -900.  I have a crono, so I will dig it out and give it a try this week end.

Edited to add