Sent my P3 in already!!

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Guinness, Jan 16, 2008.

1. Guinness

Guinness New Member

Jan 16, 2008
    Whats up everyone. I am a newbie to the site and a noob to kel tec guns. I did purchase a P-3AT SN# JGU in November and have had some problems since purchase. I cleaned it and put through about 100 rounds and ran into the following:

1. On the first round of a full mag it would not load into the chamber properly. i.e I pull slide back to engage first round. The slide moves halfway fwd and seems to get stuck on the bullet. Hence I have to pull it back again to fully place the first round into the chamber.

2. Just jams up alot. I assume this might be associated with issue #1.

Lost my confidence quickly, so I sent it into kel tec this week. Any ideas what they will do to correct the issue? And how long it will take? I am carrying my glock 27 till then. Not quite as comfortable but works fine.

Thanks!

2. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    Welcome to KTOG....
    The type of problems you stated are norm for the first poster here that have problems.  I guess the site should keep records on the percentage of those that correct and get there P3AT working to thier satisfaction.  The other statiscic should be once one states they loose confidance they wind up getting rid of them.  It is concidered a good find/deal to get one of those.

More than likely KT will clean, polish lube, and possibly change the extractor.  Sometimes they replace the barrel and slide if there was a problem.

six to eight weeks

3. Guinness

Guinness New Member

Jan 16, 2008
    Thanks for the welcome.

I think this gun will be a really nice concealable weapon when fixed. It amazes me though how this is the norm.... I cannot imagine my glock doing the same thing or any other gun. Why is this the norm?

Thanks!

4. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    What I meant