Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
It’ll be my first suppressor. I have little in-person experience with them, but I have been learning about them for a few years in preparation.

I have two rifles I want to suppress: the RDB-S and my hunting rifle, a Ruger Gunsight Scout in .308. I’m currently focusing on the RDB but if I can find one to swap between them that’s saving time money and hassle.

I have no plans nor intentions to do mag dumps or long range sessions without cooling time, so full auto ratings and/or barrel length minimums don’t matter. I actually consider designs focusing on those capabilities as detriments since they always result in weight increases I don’t need or want.

My priorities are light weight and decibel reduction, and I consider 16oz x 8” x 2” to be the maximum acceptable dimensions (obviously the ideal one would be well within those dimensions, but I’m fine approaching any of the three if it’s justified).

So, help me out.

I haven’t found a website that lists suppressors searchable by the metrics I’m focusing on, so if you know of one I’d be grateful. If you suggest an option, please include measurements and weights with/without mounting devices etc.

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
135 Posts
I went with an AAC 7.62-SD for my RDB and my RFB. Have been happy ever since. I have used it on 22lr, 22mag, 224 Valkyrie, 6.8 spc, 7.62x39 , 7mm, 300 blackout, 300wm and 308win.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I went with an AAC 7.62-SD for my RDB and my RFB. Have been happy ever since.
Is it exceptionally quiet?

23oz and 9” are disqualifying for me unless it takes both down to exceptional db levels...

Edit: MAC has a video of it getting an average 145db on a 7.62 bolt gun.
I guess I’ll consider that the baseline...

·
Premium Member
135 Posts