Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 20 of 777 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just me giving a basic overview of the benefits and joys of reloading. More of an educational piece for those who have thought about reloading but haven't gotten around to it yet.
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1sPArlp5Ts"]VIDEO[/ame]

·
Registered
1,456 Posts
I have been reloading for about 3 years now. It helps me through the winter time when I can not get to range. It is cheaper, but that is not why I took up the hobby. I like to use my time on my hobby and this fills in the time when I can not shoot. It is satisfying when I go to the range and fire my own ammo and it goes bang! I also pick up used brass while I am there and this helps me build my supply for when SHTF.

·
Registered
441 Posts
I've been casting and reloading handgun since I was 9 years old, rifle was added when I was around 11, and shotgun reloading when I got out of the Army at 22 years old.

I love it and it's still as new and magic to me as it was 'way back then. I owe it all to my Dad, though, as he insisted I learn this when I was 9.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Need some help - first reloading attempt

I am thinking about starting to reload my ammo. I have never done this before. Any pointers from you pros would be appreciated.

What equipment is needed?
What tools are needed?
What supplies - your brand recommendations?
How long does it take to load a 1000rds?
Any special technique more successful than others?
Any safety concerns to be aware of?
Mistakes noobs make.

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
My tips are to tripple check you load data, check more than one source. There are misprints and some of the old loads are insane!!!

Only keep the powder your loading with on the bench, keep it close to your powder measure. Put the powder up after you finish, i've had to dump the powder measure acouple times for forgetting what was in it. And you can pour it back into the wrong container.