Reloading issue for the RFB

Discussion in 'RFB High Efficiency Rifle' started by Mike Axle, Aug 25, 2017.

1. Mike Axle

Mike Axle New Member

Apr 4, 2012
    I have read many posts of people who successfully reload for the RFB. I am an experienced reloader but have not had any luck with my RFB. The issue Im having is I get signs of high pressure (cratering on the primer) with any load I have tried listed in the reloading books. I have been reloading for my M14 for many years with no issues. I talked to my gunsmith and he said this could be due to a light firing pin strike. I am using lake city brass and CCI primers and hand weigh each charge when load testing. Anyone else have this issue? Any ideas on how to fix?

2. ronmar

ronmar Well-Known Member

Oct 2, 2010
    I don't think there is a fix. You may note this same effect on factory ammo. I think it is a factor of the firing pin strike as your gunsmith noted and the fit of the bolt face to the cartridge base(and immediately around the firing pin) when chambered. Also since your LC brass originally held crimped primers, this may effect how the reload primers now seat in the now uncrimped primer pocket. Obviously if you are loading to a known spec, you are not getting actual overpressure and if you fire one of those rounds thru another rifle you will probably not see those same cratering effects... Reloading for the RFB You are also going to find your brass failing faster than normal as it's "generous" chamber makes for very expanded and stretched brass and a VERY difficult resize. This will cause the brass to work harden and fail faster. I have also been reloading for decades and experienced my only ever case failure(neck separation) reloading for the RFB. Keltec did the worst disservice to the RFB(and it's purchasers) by NOT reaming the RFB chamber and throat to a SAMI spec... If it had gotten that one detail, I think it would be easilly sub MOA.