Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Newbie here.

Finally got my 9mm G17 sub out and put about 150 rounds through it. Lots of fun. Though I gotta get some slimmer ear-muffs for that cheek-weld...

The recoil wasn’t too bad all considered, but - in interest of getting my wife to use it and like using it - I want to explore some recoil management first.

I’ve read most of your threads here, and all are great. As well as many in the MCarbo forum. I THINK I am leaning towards the heavyweight bolt to start, even though it doesn’t add as much as either the MCarbo or Twisted Industries charging handles, as I’m leery of using a charging handle that takes a supplemental hard-to-place locking pin that makes it hard to field-strip in the field. I emailed Twisted, and they said theirs don’t - but their pics online make it look awfully like they could (or maybe that they are supplying MCarbo...). And I don’t want to get into a situation where I just forgo a locking pin where it’s recommended for the aftermarket part, and then it adds risk of the charging handle turning out of the recoil spring in a bad situation. The heavyweight bolt seems to sidestep all those cleanly, albeit with lower weight.

SO - what say ye? Start with the heavyweight bolt, even though nearly 2x the cost of a heavy charging handle? Use the Twisted handle? Wait for MCarbo’s revision that may mitigate the need for a locking pin (seen in a recent thread on their forum; exploring basically fixing the pin as a fixed-in-place new cap on the recoil spring)? Something else for recoil - e.g. other suppliers or solutions (muzzle brake, etc)?

·
Super Moderator
17,775 Posts
The heavier bolt is more intended to lessen the sharper recoil impulse from the 40 S&W round. It may adversely impact the cycling of lighter 115gr 9mm ammo. No empirical evidence for this. Just a potential FYI.

·
Registered
1,108 Posts