Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am very new to this semi-auto rifle thing. I took the zero miles RDB out for a walk this weekend for it's first shoot about and for some reason I had a mental lapse (excitement) and forgot that the manual stated to only use "Premium Ammo", I am guessing 20 rounds for $12.99 is NOT! Premium; Yes?

What's crazy is I had the manual with me and reading it again while at the bench during the gas setup. Boy or boy... what a real horror show.

I did a search before posting this new topic and saw the writings from others about their issues with bent casing and stuff. But I did not see anyone with the outcome I was had. So maybe someone can clue me in on what the heck is Bolt Norris doing to these round casings.

What I am trying to figure out is what is actually happening with the steel case lip and why my RDB is trying to roundhouse kick the shell casing in the lips vs ejecting them to the floor.

Here is a picture of the carnage during my attempts to set the gas settings.

When I had the gas set where the bolt did not lock back. No Damaged Shell casing; No Shell Casing Ejection.
(ex: See 1st Guy in the Row)

When I had the Gas set where the bolt locked back but got all kinds of Mega Shell case damage, No Shell Ejection.
(ex: See The Rest)

My Question is what is causing the casing damage??

I understand expansion issues with steel case. But I don't understand what is inside the gun that could ripping the lips off these casings. I shot 10 times with one round in the magazine. I stopped as it was clear I needed a Paul Harrell type figure to help me with the analysis.

I have not disassembled the gun post shooting session to see what damage I may have done to this new gun. Maybe a positive is that no pieces fell out the gun.