Range with Crimson Trace & other "shooting" aids

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by pfb, Jan 31, 2008.

1. pfb

pfb New Member

Oct 17, 2007
    I've starting using a Crimson Trace laser for my P3AT. I hesitated due to its cost, especially relative to the price of the P3AT in the first place, but decided that if the gun was to be used as a CCW, especially with the pretty crappy stock sights, the cost wasn't as big of an issue. Crimson Trace was also at a local sportsmans show and was offering $50 off, so I pulled the trigger :)

I'm relatively new to the P3AT, and at my first and only previous range trip, I was somewhat disappointed with how accurately I could shoot it. I'm far from a marksman, and really could care less about competitive shooting, but if I'm going to carry a concealed pistol, I want to be able to put it on target accurately and consistently. I can shoot me G23 pretty accurately, but the P3AT will be my main CCW.

Result? Couldn't be happier. Using the laser as the primary sight, I can rapid fire (six in five) and put all six into the head kill zone at 15' or all six in the torso "effective" zone at 50'. Good enough for me! I will practice using the stock sights with the laser as a co-alignment check as well in case I have to use the P3AT with dead laser batteries.

Things I've done so far to help create a reliable, accurate carry piece:

1. Fluff, buff & lube (www.militec1.com grease & oil).
    2. Bersa mag extender (www.e-gunparts.com)
    3. AGrip tactical grip (www.brookstactical.com)
    4. Crimson Trace laser (www.crimsontrace.com)

I'm also really liking the AGrip as well. It forms to the grip so tightly you can read all the lettering and see/feel the checkering, but is slip resistant, more comfortable, and looks cool to boot!

i still had two stovepipes in 100 rounds. Both where on the last round in the magazine. Coincidence?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. regrip

regrip New Member

Aug 10, 2007