Range Report!

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by goprepared78, Apr 11, 2010.

1. goprepared78

goprepared78 Member

Apr 4, 2010
    Well I took her out for a spin for the first time today! The lil p3at did a great job. WWB, Remington UMC and speer gold dots. Only issue I had was the first round in the mags on the gold dots, it seemed I had to slingshot the slide to get the first round to feed. Perhaps I was trying to rack to "gently". Otherwise, no ftf/fte, everything was great. Accuracy was acceptable at about 8 yards, paper plate sized groupings... remember this is my first time firing any handgun. So I'm working on my slow smooth trigger pulls. Also trying the staging of the trigger to round out my training and familiarity of the firearm.

I installed a hogue handall jr last night and sanded all the rough edges with 600 grit. I put about 40 rounds through. I was expecting much worse treatment of my hand. I think the sanding and the hogue made a big difference. That along with the fluff and buff made the morning a reliable headacheless outing. I will be putting more rounds through it very soon. Pics with the hogue to follow tonight.

Any advice on the slingshotting of the gold dots? Functionality is fine, but just curious if others experienced that on their first fed round of gold dots. The error may be on my side, the ball just seems to require less rack snap. I think I've read you actually need to be aggressive in racking to properly chamber a round. Yea... its me, time to get rough with her! Ooo baby, now only if I could talk my gf into the same stuff.

2. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas