platting the barrel?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by baa5000, Oct 30, 2008.

1. baa5000

baa5000 New Member

Sep 21, 2008
    I'm sending my slide and mags into CCR to get the cera-hide coating in stainless steel (which im very excited about) and I was wondering if it made sense to get the barrel done too? It's only another $6. I'm still pretty new to guns and especially upgrades like new coatings so I was hoping to get your expert and always insiteful advice. Thanks!

2. CJP32

CJP32 Active Member

Jul 24, 2008
    I was wondering the same thing. For just $6 it sounds like a good idea to me but there are smarter people than I here at KTOG.

CJ

3. Ape

Ape New Member

Jul 16, 2008
    Colorado
    Never had it done but I can't see how it would be a bad thing? Extra protection combined with the added ability to have less friction is a good thing right? ;-) And if you decide it's not what you like I'll bet it sould be media blasted back off and polished back up. :-/

4. Boggs51

Boggs51 New Member

Jan 6, 2007
    As long as you are getting the other work done...why not!

5. tommyray

tommyray New Member

Sep 2, 2008
    Which will hold up better and be more scratch resistant...CCR's Cera-Hide, or Jack's nickle plating?

6. Boggs51

Boggs51 New Member

Jan 6, 2007
    Probably Cera-Hyde, however, never had that done. I've had jack do all my guns...just a great guy to deal with.

P.S. You shoud see what Jack did to my "cheap" Hi-Point 45!

Boggs

7. baa5000

baa5000 New Member

Sep 21, 2008
    Alright sounds good, I just feel better running things by the experts here first :cool: I'll be sure to post pictures when I get it back. My Armalaser just showed up today too so now the wait is going to be that much harder!

8. Boggs51

Boggs51 New Member

Jan 6, 2007
    Good choice on the ArmaLaser. Now you will find out how much your hands shake! :)

9. tommyray

tommyray New Member

Sep 2, 2008
    Boggs, How is the nickle holding up?