Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 20 of 92 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone-

I just recently purchased a new P3AT Hard Chrome #J7xx and I love it. Now I want to get a P11 and a Sub 2000. These things are a addictive!

Anyway, I am a total newbie, but I have been lurking here for a while. I have a learned a lot from this forum. Thanks everyone!

Before firing my P3AT, I polished the feedramp until it looked like a mirror, smoothed out the plastic flashing on the grip and trigger, added finger extensions to my magazines, and installed a Hogue Handall Jr.

Took it to the range and ran 100 rounds of Sellier and Bellot FMJ through it. It functioned Flawlessly! Kept my wrist locked and had no FTF, FTE etc.

After cleaning the gun up I noticed that around the recoil guide rod hole there was the slightest lip starting to form. just barely enough to catch my fingernail on.

Yesterday, I decided to call Kel Tec about the slide. Even though the gun is currently functioning fine, it was bothering me knowing where this was headed (Yeah,Yeah I am really Obsessive Compulsive too! ;D). It feels like the gun is wounded or something. Not confidence inspiring or what ever you want to call it.  The woman I talked to on the phone at Kel Tec said she had never heard of "peening" nor anything similar to what I was describing. Next, she puts me on hold and supposedly talks to a Gunsmith there at Kel Tec (her words) and they were not familiar with "peening" either. I mentioned the longer recoil guide rod that some had received and they had not heard of that either.  

I decided to go ahead and order another HC slide and put it on my credit card until I return the old one. They were really easy about this and told me that if I was not happy with the new one I could send it back too.

With all of that said (sorry), here is my question:

The people with P3ATs that don't have peening issues, are their slides not paper thin where the recoil guide rod hole is?