Pachmayr for Pocket Carry?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Harleyrider, Feb 24, 2011.

1. Harleyrider

Harleyrider New Member

Feb 24, 2011
    Hi all, I'm a newbie to this group and to my P3AT.  I use it for pocket carry.  I saw a Pachmayr grip for it and wondered if anyone had any experience using a Pachmayr on a P3AT.  I am concerned that the extra bulk and the texture of the Pachmayr would impede the draw.  TIA.

Vic

2. Mepperson

Mepperson New Member

Feb 15, 2011
    Do you have a link to the grip? I'd like to see what they look like.

Okay, I posted that before looking myself. They are fairly cheap but the bicycle inner tube I have on mine costs about 4 bucks and
    I have enough for about 10 grips. It gives it that redneck look, but that's okay with me. It keeps some of the sharp edges from digging into my hands. I wouldn't mind having a set but it will have to wait until after these rubber grips wear out. Let us know how they work out if you get a pair.

3. BillK

BillK New Member

Jul 23, 2007
    I use the bicycle type rubber grip on both my P3Ats. With front pocket draw the grip, whether sleeved or not, does not touch pocket material. Your thumb and back of your hand will touch the pocket material. The grip you are considering should work fine, I just can't imagine it being so thick as to negatively effect a smooth fast draw unless you've got really tight pockets to begin with.

Bill K.

4. burley

burley Active Member

Nov 26, 2006
    Kansas
  5. Crazy_Horse

Crazy_Horse New Member

Apr 10, 2010
    First welcome to KTOG. Nice looking grips not much difference than the Hogue grip I used and in a good pocket holster i never had a probelm with pocket carry. If your worried about bulk check out Tractiongrips

6. JAB

JAB Well-Known Member

May 6, 2010
    East Tennessee