P9mak?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by CJP32, Jul 12, 2010.

1. CJP32

CJP32 Active Member

Jul 24, 2008
    OK. This is just a thought I've had and I understand it would likely never happen but it might be a fun discussion.

How hard would it be to convert a P3at to shoot 9mm Mak (9x18). I am by no means a gun designer but it would seem pretty simple to me, a new barrel and recoil springs. Also it would need some work to the magazine, the 9mak will fit in a P3at mag but it's tight and I don't think it would feed properly. So what am I missing?

There are several reasons I think it might be an interesting idea; the ammo is cheaper and generally more powerful. However I think the recoil would be pretty strong and would lead to the same problems the P40 had. Also there is much less choice in self defense ammo in the 9mak, I can only find one style of JHP the "Silver Bear".

What do you think guys?
    CJ

2. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas
    I think you hit on the big issues.  A new barrel should be pretty easy.  The mag might be the biggest stumbling block, and like you said, ammo availability is very weak and mostly steel-cased stuff.  The ballistic advantage  would be relatively marginal and there would likely be an increase in power to weight ratio related problems, recoil, muzzle flip, limpwirsting, etc.  Of course the guns would take a little more beating too.  In short, I don't think it is a very likely future KT product. Going the other way is easier. I have a Makarov in 9mm Mak. Although I've never installed it, the gun came with a 380 barrel which is all that is needed for the conversion.

3. joje

joje New Member

Nov 1, 2007
    hate to be a negative nancy but i dont think its a very good idea.