P3AT Slide

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Bo_Bryant, Aug 22, 2008.

1. Bo_Bryant

Bo_Bryant New Member

Jun 7, 2008
    Picked up my new P3AT today. However, I don't know if I have problem or not. When I try to rack the slide, it will not come back. I am new to the 3AT so I am not sure if I am doing something wrong or if there is something wrong with the gun.

Am I doing something wrong? I pull back on it like the P11. Any suggestions or thoughts would be appreciated.

Bo Bryant

2. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member

Dec 25, 2006
    Not meaning to sound smartallecky, but do you have the springs in? Both of them? Can you slide it forward by hand? Empty your mag and try it - what happens?

-Scott

3. Bo_Bryant

Bo_Bryant New Member

Jun 7, 2008
    You are not. I haven't taken it apart as of yet. Just opened the box, tried to rack the slide, it moves back about 3/8 of an inch and that is all that it will do. Didn't know if I have a problem or something I am doing or do I need to take it apart first and do something. Never had this problem with my P11.

4. Bo_Bryant

Bo_Bryant New Member

Jun 7, 2008
    Even though I couldn't get the slide to go back, I took out the assembly pin and disassembled the gun. I don't know exactly what I did, but when I reassembled it, it worked fine. So that is all that counts. Strange though. Now, I will take it apart again, clean it, put some militec on it and put a few rounds through it.

Bo Bryant

5. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas
    Since it was test-fired at KT, probably someone, somewhere along the chain leading to you, disassembled the gun and did not get it back together correctly. Anyway, let us know how it shoots. A word of warning... once you start carrying a P3, everthing else feels like a brick. ;D

6. Bo_Bryant

Bo_Bryant New Member

Jun 7, 2008