P3AT Slide Peening

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by OnTop, Feb 26, 2011.

1. OnTop

OnTop New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    I am pretty new to Kel Tec and I just notice some protrusion of metal around the guide rod opening. Can someone please list the proper procedures of contacting and returning the slide (or complete firearm) to Kel Tec for service. Do I have to pay shipping both ways or Kel Tec will take care of shipping? Do they just sent out replacement slide for exchange?

Thanks

OT

2. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas
    If your slide needs replacement, you can ship it back to them with a note detailing the problem. They will return ship the replacement. You can call the service department on Monday if you want to discuss it with them first.

http://www.keltecweapons.com/

3. OnTop

OnTop New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    Thanks for the help. Will be contacting Kel Tec early next week.

OT

4. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    welcome to ktog.

A little proud swell (~0.010" rise) would not be a problem, and will stop growing.  It becomes a problem when the diameter of the hole increases.

Have you search here for the past post related to peening?  
    If so, does yours fall into the serial number range where the problem existed

5. OnTop

OnTop New Member

Feb 26, 2011
    Thanks for the info.  The serial number is JOTxx (is the digit between J&T an "O" or a "0 - zero"?).  I can't tell which one is which.  Does Kel Tec uses the letter O in the serial numbers? If the digit is a number 0, is this falls in the range in the above post?

OT

6. Sangueffusor

Sangueffusor New Member

May 13, 2007
    Indiana
    They only use the number zero and not the letter O. That makes your gun in the serial range where this phenomenon occurred. Like JFB said, unless the diameter of the hole is increasing enough for the inner recoil spring to come out, it shouldn't cause any problems.

7. TxCajun