P3AT DAO?

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by vtachrn, Oct 23, 2007.

1. vtachrn

vtachrn New Member

Oct 23, 2007
    I just got a new P3AT 2nd Gen today. Its light, and perfect for how I would to carry, if I am out running. I did the fluff and puff and polished the heck out of it with 800 grit. I have to say that it was a little rough out of the box. I oiled the heck out of it.

I put a snap cap in it (Dummy .380) to test the trigger pull.
    It fires great, however I have to cycle the slide to get it to fire again. Is this normal?
    Should it not cock and fire everytime you pull the trigger?

It looks like the hammer has two positions. 1 that is far farward and dependant on the slide to return it to the DOA position before it can be fired again? What gives?

I am new to DAO only types of triggers as I have been packing a Glock and XD for a while.

2. buzzsaw

buzzsaw Grand Poobah Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Georgia
    Welcome to the forum. What you describe sounds normal. I have a P-32 which has the same action. You don't have to pull it all the way back to reset the hammer. Practicing the trigger pull with a snap cap is a good idea.

buzzsaw

3. Checker4Tix

Checker4Tix Active Member

Aug 6, 2007
    Well, the highly experienced sages on the board will be better able to describe the true nature of the P3AT's action, but I don't think it is a true DAO pistol like the P11. The P11 action is just like a double action revolver - at least in overall effect. The P3AT is sort of quazi-double action in that you have to rack the slide to reset the trigger.

To more directly answer the practical issue of practicing with snap caps, you only have to pull the slide back about 1/4" to reset the trigger. You don't have to eject the snap cap and reload every time. Just pull the slide back a bit till you hear a click. That is the trigger re-setting. At that point you are good to go again with another practice shot.

4. vtachrn

vtachrn New Member

Oct 23, 2007