Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've had a second-gen P-3AT for about six months now. I discovered today, much to my chagrin, that for some period of time I've effectively been carrying a brick. I haven't fired it in a couple months; when I went to the range today I discovered that when I pull the trigger, it pulls the hammer back, but the trigger is not able to pull the hammer far enough back to trip. Meaning -- I pull the trigger, hammer comes back. I pull the trigger ALL THE WAY, hammer is still back, has not tripped. It's as if the connecting spring between them does not have enough tension to pull the hammer far enough back.

I stripped the P-3AT and took a look; I don't see anything obviously wrong, but then again I am not an expert. Anything I should specifically look at, or should I send it in for service?

Thoughts, comments appreciated.

·
Registered
5,189 Posts
why send it in for service when a hammer spring assembly (YES, GET IT ALL PRE-ASSEMBLED) will probably solve it.

Make sure the triger pin is tight, but i had the same thing happen to me about CHristmas time.

Got a new one installed, perfect ever since.

·
Administrator
32,240 Posts

·
Registered
3,755 Posts
Danuary said:
You lucky son of a gun!

This is an excellent excuse to buy a second P-3AT, while giving yourself time to tinker with the first P-3AT.

Wilson – who’s wife figured that one out after the fourth or fifth P-3AT ::)

·
Banned
7,638 Posts
Danuary said:
The pin is in place so looks like the hammer spring. I'll check it out.
The Pin backs out to cause this. It will still be there, but will stick out more than the usual 1/8" of exposed pin. Try tapping it in to see if it will go in further. then see if it will fire.

Packer.

·
Banned
4,317 Posts