Operating handle stuck after dry fire brand new RDB.

Discussion in 'RDB Bullpup Rifle' started by David T., Mar 25, 2019.

1. David T.

David T. Member

Mar 25, 2019
    I am a newbie to the Kel-Tec family. Just bought a new RDB, cocked the gun and dry fired it without a snap cap and the magazine inserted.
    Afterward, I was able to only pull back the operating handle about half way back, unable to completely cock the gun. The operating handle can still move forward but seemed stuck and stop at the halfway point. Also after the dry fire, I cannot insert the magazine completely in, it does not catch.
    I called Keltec support, they could not tell me much over the phone without seeing and inspecting the gun. So they told me to send it in.
    So lets not go into the debate about is it safe to dry fire or not. What I want to know is do I have a defective gun? Any recommendation to fix this w/o having to send this in unless this is a manufacture defect. I have other rifle that I could dry fire w/o seeing this problem, is this due to the bullpub design?
    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

2. RogueIV

RogueIV Well-Known Member

Dec 2, 2018
    Hate to ask but are you pulling hard enough on the charging handle? About halfway is where you start to cock the rifle and is usually when the handle gets a little harder to pull.

Can you flip the gun over and take some pics of in the magwell and also the ejection port so we can better help you?

3. RogueIV

Dec 2, 2018
    Also the mag is known to be harder to insert whem the gun is uncocked. You need to give it a slight smack to get it in or push it all the way up then sort of rock it backwards till it clicks. I would fool with the mag yet till we can confirm nothing it wrong with your hammer though.

4. David T.

David T. Member

Mar 25, 2019