ON THE ROAD

Discussion in 'The Great Outdoors' started by lop, Oct 24, 2010.

1. lop

lop Active Member

May 20, 2008
    Well, I've been thinking about putting a post in like the "insert ramble here" for a while now. I drive for a living, but we all are out on the roads some. Many of us are concerned about armed conflicts, but as Americans we are much more likly to come to harm on the roads by accidents then from a situation that needs firearms to control it. (just went to a balistics calculator, 2 ton car at 30mph = about 126000 ft/lbs of energy.) Ray's BMG is just plain wimpy next to a Vega at low speeds.

I figured we could post things that we see and or thought about while on the road. The impetus for this was that I was driving along Lower Roswell Road in Marietta Ga. on Satureday. 35 mph, kinda small, narrow road that sees more traffic than it was designed for. Some guy is heading towards me in a brown Jeep G. Cherokee. I'm not sure what he was doing, but he just crossed the double yellow lines and had his left tire a full 18 inches in my lane before he decides to look up and swerve back in to his. keep in mind, I'm in a concrete mixer. About 28000 lbs empty. The crumple zones start at the bumpers and move out. If I swerve and take out a mailbox, he will keep going and I'll get fired for running off the road. I don't swerve. It sure is a neat way to perk up a driver though. ::)

So, anyone else with stories from the road? Observations from the road? Funky pictures of goofy stuff?
    Be safe out there guys,
    Lop

2. Bert

Bert Banned

Mar 4, 2007
    Sound like the makings of a country song <I fought the Lop, and the Lop won...>

Nothing to tell for me, but

I hope to die peacefully in my sleep (probably while my passengers scream in terror)

B.

3. spence13e

spence13e New Member

May 11, 2006
    Kansas