Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all Im a fresh noob. Even tho I have grown up around guns and fired them as a kid, after 30 some odd years of being out of the "gun" environment, I feel like a fresh beginner. I inhereted my Dads KelTec P32 and took a CCW class with that gun. Last weekend I purchased a PF9. I love the look and feel of the gun and today I got to fire it at the range! I did have some issues with FTE but only after I scraped my LH thumb by having it stupidly behind the gun instead of where it should be. I know I wreak of noobness LOL.

One of the folks at the club said I was not getting a good enough grip on the gun thus my FTE issues. However Im going to check that extractor screw now that Ive read a few tips here. I cant wait to go to the range again and get more familier with this gun!

One other issue Im having is a total nervousness while at the range. I dont ever remember being afraid of loud bangs and shooting. But it kind of over-ran me today at the range. Near the end of my session I was pretty shaky. Any tips on how to overcome this would be appreciated.

This seems like a very nice place and Im glad I found the KTOG!

John

·
Registered
105 Posts
Were you having ejection problems or extraction problems? An extraction problem would be the gun leaving an empty casing in the chamber. Ejection would be more like a stove pipe situation with the empty casing not clearing the slide in time and getting "caught".

If your problem was with extraction, some folks have seen that recently (myself included) on their PF9. Most solved this situation by calling KT and having them send you a new extractor, spring, and screw. In some cases that fixes it. In others, doubling of the extractor spring fixes it.

You are right to check your screw and verify that it's tight. Some folks find it loose and once it is secured with loctite they don't have any more trouble.