non resident ccw

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by mydixiwrecked00, Aug 3, 2008.

1. mydixiwrecked00

mydixiwrecked00 New Member

Jul 25, 2008
    i tried to post this at the counter since i really am not sure of where it should go but it said i was not aloud.

i am a Florida resident and have my CCW... I am trying to find information on acquiring a Utah non resident permit and not having much luck on websearches other than " get both today for $150". does anyone here have experience in this or hold both permits? how do u go about getting the Utah permit? i travel a lot and would like to be legal in as many states as possible.

2. shootah800

shootah800 New Member

Nov 29, 2007
    Hey, mydixiwerecked00 --

I am a UT resident, and have a UT permit. Here is the link with with OFFICIAL information:

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/concealedfirearms.html

Keep in mind that there are a few states that only accept your permit if you are a resident of the state from which the permit is issued. This is not the case very often, however. If you have any other questions, feel free to PM me.

-Matt

3. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member

Dec 25, 2006
    Several of the gun ranges around the Portland area have Utah instructors that regularly put on Utah classes to meet Utah's qualifications.  It's a big enough deal to have a permit from Utah that you can get their classes several states away - pretty cool if you ask me. But I'm still for a "Full Faith and Credit" recognition of another state's licenses throughout the US.

-Scott

4. molachi

molachi New Member

Jun 16, 2008
    Pensacola, Fl.

Scott..Definetly agree with you on that....

John

5. So am I. Of course, the phrase, "...throughout the US." implies concealed carry be made legal everywhere, which it should. I'd be content with one license that covered all places now legal to carry as being a good starting point.

Paul

6. Blue_Moon

Blue_Moon New Member

Dec 22, 2004