Nickel plating vs. Stock Chrome

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by voigts, Sep 30, 2008.

1. voigts

voigts New Member

Sep 30, 2008
    Well as you can see, I'm new to KTOG. I'm about to purchase a P-3AT, and have been searching and reading extensively for finish options, but haven't found any really good user experience. I saw a post on here about Jack Fuselier's finishing service http://www.gunsmith.fuselier.com/slideoffer.html which seems very reasonable to me. Another poster said he was very satisfied with his finish.

I want some kind of hard finish, and as you all know, the chrome ones are hard to come by and are far too often overpriced. I am therefore considering just buying a blued P-3AT, making sure that it fires OK, and then getting it nickel plated. I called and talked to Jack about the nickel finish, and he says that nickel is a better finish than the chrome that Kel-tec offers because their chrome plating is very cheap, and nickel offers better rust prevention.

Does anyone have any experiences with chrome vs nickel and the pros and cons of each?

I am also wondering if now is as good a time as any to make a purchase, or if anyone has any idea if prices/availability may go up or down in the near future?

2. jpaul

jpaul Member

Apr 23, 2008
    The only thing I don't like about nickel, and this is on any gun by any company, is that nickel is soft. Softer than the metal under it. On a revolver this is ok since you don't have as many moving parts as on an auto that would show the finish flakeing off.
    I will also add that I have not owned any autos that were nickel plated so this is just my theory.
    I had my p-11 plated with Metalife, which is a type of chrome, the more it rubs against itself the slicker it gets.
    I think it was about 70 bucks plus shipping and that was for everthing metal on the pistol.
    There is some pictures on here somewhere on the p-11 forum if you wan to do a search.

3. CJP32

CJP32 Active Member

Jul 24, 2008