Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
It had been over two years since I did my research into starting my NFA stamp collection and making my CMR into a SBR. Then while having a discussion on a another forum the legality of the location of my makers marks became a topic. As the material was no longer fresh I started to debate myself my original conclusions and ran through the law, the relevant ATF handbooks (based off the law and ATF regulations with the effect of law), and other sources again to make sure I wasn't an accidental almost felon. Below are my personal notes I took like I should have the first time.

This is not legal advice, I am not a lawyer, I suggest you do not do this yourself, or consult a lawyer yourself before doing the same, etc. All standard disclaimers apply lol.

If you do happen to consult a gun lawyer kindly post back the results.

The law and the ATF use the terms "frame" and "receiver" interchangeably. I'll primarily use frame as this is the term Keltec uses for the serialized part.

The part I engraved is blow part #420 - Extruded Top Cover

Slope Line Font Parallel Diagram

The part Keltec serializes is part #203 - Frame

Product World Organism Slope Font

We can look at CFR 478 where The "receiver or frame" is defined.

Receiver or frame definition:

That part of a firearm which provides housing for the hammer, bolt or breechblock, and firing mechanism, and which is usually threaded at its forward portion to receive the barrel.
This means all of those components save for either a bolt or breechblock must be housed within and threading for the barrel is optional.