Newbe Range Problems

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by ctcdan, Nov 15, 2007.

1. ctcdan

ctcdan New Member

May 18, 2007
    First to introduce myself, I am an engineer at CTC and purchased my P3AT after seeing one at work. It is now my daily carry piece. I have not done the full "fluff & buff" yet but did clean up the feed ramp.

I typically fire at least 200 rounds during a range session (free ammo through work :)) and have had some problems at the range that I thought I would ask the KelTec experts about.

1. The magazine would release during firing, usually after 2 to 3 shots. This even happened after making sure the mag was fully seated before firing the gun and with 2 two different people.

2. The slide failed to fully return to the battery position after a shot. This seemed to get worse after 50 rounds.

3. Difficult to rack the first round into the chamber. The slide seems to "hang up" and not fully chamber the bullet. This was with ball ammo, not hollow points.

4. Broken trigger spring. This occurred after 140 rounds in a session (340 total for that gun). Is this a common problem or rare?

I am starting to see some "peaning" around the guide rod hole after about 250 rounds on my gun so it might be headed back to KelTec in the near future. Even with the issues I still prefer to carry this weapon due to the small size and light weight.

I also bought a PF9 but have not had a chance to shoot it very much so far.

Dan

2. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member

Dec 25, 2006
    Welcome - and what is CTC?