Newb here.  Jamming when trying to load

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by learfxr, Dec 21, 2007.

1. learfxr

learfxr New Member

Dec 21, 2007
    I bought my P3AT a couple months ago and maybe shot 200-300 rounds at indoor ranges. I'm pretty new to handguns, so still learning. My first handgun was a Glock 22. It works flawlessly. I fell in love with the size and price of the KelTec 380. I had it start jamming with the first 50 rounds. I think 3 jammed during extraction, between shots. That was with Remington FMJ, fairly cheap rounds. The next trip I shot 50 rounds with no issues. That was using a box of ammo bought at the range. The next trip I shot Winchester white box FMJ ammo and had jamming issues again. I now notice that it doesn't want to load the rounds into the chamber. The round moves forward about 1/8" then jams the slide up. With a little pressure on the rear of the slide it finishes loading. I was reading online about the Fluff and Buff. I took some light grit sandpaper and did some very light sanding in a couple places. I'm not sure how comfortable I am with sanding on things in there. I don't want to damage the gun and screw up the warranty. After the sanding I wiped it clean and lubed it up. It still has major loading issues. It does not want to load without assistance. Any advice is great. Should I contact KelTec about warranty work?

2. RAT76

RAT76 Active Member

Aug 21, 2006
    Oklahoma
    Re: Newb here.  Jamming when trying to load

Welcome to KTOG Learfxr.

What you are describing is normal as far as loading the first round goes. These little guys are right at the edge of their performance envelope. They need every bit of momentum there is in the slide to cycle. Pull the slide all the way back and let it slip loose from your fingers just like releasing a slingshot. Even then on the first round they may need a nudge.