New to Guns, New to P3at, help :)

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by JeffKTec, Aug 26, 2009.

1. JeffKTec

JeffKTec New Member

Aug 25, 2009
    First off hello ! Well im really new to guns and i got a s&w .40 sigma and i have fired 400 or more rounds through it with only 1 jam on the feed.But it is very uncomfortable to conceal carry. So  i went to local gun store and the guy told me this was a very reliable gun(p3at). Anyway out of the 300 rounds i have shot out of it it has never jammed on the feed and only once hit a round soft enough to not fire it. but it has failed to eject prolly  35 times. Sometimes being so bad that the empty shell was still fully in the barrel. Had to hold slide back and pull it out with my pinky nail.  Also a few times now the slide has gotten caught on the back of the magazine elevator that the bullets sit on when i shoot the last round and sticking the slide in the back position . And the slide when pulled back seems to hit a few bumps along the way. Its not real smooth i guess.  So im no good with dremmels or sand paper or anything so i definetly shouldnt be messin with it in that way. I Am going to try getting some gun grease and trying  goldenloki's way of lubricating. ( ive only used solvent and oil on my S&W) Also going to try the +1 mag to see if i get a better grip on it as my hands arent real small and i find it hard to hold. Guess over all im just maybe looking for some tips that might help etc.. as i dont even prolly know some of the basics that everyone figures you would know. Ive only been shooting guns for 2 months now and have never done anything with them before this point. i prolly dont even clean and lubricate them correctly...
    Thanks for any help :)

2. vn6869

vn6869 New Member

Jul 31, 2009
    Welcome to the Forum. :)
    You are at the right place to find answers. And it seems you are paying attention. ;)

Listen Pal, we all start somewhere. ;D
    I'm no expert, and have been shooting for 45 years.