New P3AT Hard to feed hollow points

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by RPM_64, May 23, 2009.

1. RPM_64

RPM_64 New Member

Apr 26, 2009
    Hi, newbie here with his first KelTec, a new P3AT. I notice that when I chamber a hollow point, the slide and or the ramp catches the round and actually binds and mars the brass case. I can get it to feed but I can feel the resistance before it hangs up.
    When chambering FMJ rounds there is no problem at all.

Am I missing something?
    I have been carrying GLOCKS for the last few years, and before that COLTS. Both of them were without issue so this is a bit new for me.

I really like the ability to carry this little .380 in my pocket and want to be sure it will do whats needed if ever called upon.

Thanks in advance for the help.

2. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas
    Several things to consider:

1.  If the gun is still new, feed problems with JHP are not terribly uncommon.  Prudent owners shoot FMJ for the first 100+ rounds (break-in) and only then start to test SD ammo.

2.  If the gun is already broken in, try some different rounds.  It is not uncommon for these guns to prefer one ammo over another.

3.  If the gun only balks on loading the first round (by hand) but then reliably feeds the remaining rounds when shooting, don't sweat it.  It is not unusual to have to tap the back of the slide on the first round chambered, again, especially with a new gun or with certain rounds.

4.  Anything you can do to reduce friction can help.  Polish the slide rails, hammer interface barrel lugs, chamber and especially the feed ramp. .
    http://goldenloki.com/gunsmith/keltec/fullrp.htm

5.   Make sure the gun is properly cleaned and lubed.
    http://goldenloki.com/gunsmith/keltec/lube.htm

3. torrent

torrent New Member

Dec 18, 2006