New P3AT Experience/Questions

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by achmafooma, Jan 20, 2009.

1. achmafooma

achmafooma Guest

Hello!

First off, please be gentle :) I'm completely new to the world of firearms. I had never fired a gun before this past summer, and once I did I liked it so much that my wife and I now own four firearms and we each have just got our Concealed Handgun Permits. My wife has two S&W revolvers (one for home, one for carry) and I have a S&W M&P9 and a brand new KelTec P3AT.

I actually got the last P3AT my local gun store had in stock...I had been wanting a black grip and hard-chrome slide, but I settled for a grey grip and blued slide since if I didn't take that I probably wouldn't have gotten anything ;-). Supply seems to be quite limited at the moment.

I took the KT to the range for the first time on Thursday of last week, and have just begun carrying it regularly. It was completely reliable at the range without a single failure of any kind. I guess I've been lucky; my M&P hasn't had a single failure either (and it has hundreds of rounds through it now).

Anyway, couple of things...love to get some feedback from people who know better than I do!

1) I have to do some more experimenting at the range, but shooting at 7yds I seemed to be hitting a good 5" or so lower than where I was aiming. I could be anticipating but it's way, way, way more pronounced and consistent with the KT than when firing my M&P. I am reasonably certain that my KT simply puts holes below my aim point. I can compensate (by aiming higher), but I'm wondering if this is common? Should I worry about it? Any idea how to mitigate the issue or improve the gun's accuracy?