New owner

Discussion in 'Sub9 and Sub2000 Rifles' started by Jason-s2k, Oct 31, 2017.

1. Jason-s2k

Jason-s2k Member

Oct 31, 2017
    I just picked up a first gen sub2000 so that I could learn a little about modding guns.

I’m fairly new to this so I apologize ahead of time if I ask stupid questions.

I pulled the front sight off to replace it and while I had it off I remembered that I had a spare piece of carbon fiber tube from a previous project. It slides perfectly over the adapter that locates the stock forend and would just need a bushing at the other end.

The ID of the tube is .75” while the barrel OD is about .65”. Will this get too hot to hold? Does it need to be vented so that the barrel can cool? I currently only have 10rnd magazines if that makes a difference?

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 31, 2017
    850sub likes this.
  2. 850sub

850sub Well-Known Member

Nov 7, 2012
    Pensacola
    Depends on how you use your sub.
    If just 10 rounds, and check targets. Probably won't get hot.
    Not sure how cf reacts to heat.
    Blow torch a piece and see how it holds up!

3. Jason-s2k

Jason-s2k Member

Oct 31, 2017
    The fiber itself is really resistant to heat. The epoxy (or resin) that bonds the fibers may break down if the temp gets too hot, but if it’s that hot, then I won’t be able to hold on to it.

I guess it’s pretty easy to test. I just don’t want to risk damaging the barrel to try it out.

4. 3wbdriver

3wbdriver Moderator Staff Member

Nov 2, 2005
    Louisiana
    I've heard of a lot of aftermarket 22lr barrels being a very thin barrel inserted in a CF sleeve to provide a stiffer but lighter barrel. I wouldn't think it should be a problem, but I have no empirical data to back this.

5. Bubbas308AR

Bubbas308AR Member Supporter

Sep 17, 2017
    Mandan, ND
    You shouldn't hurt the barrel with only enough heat to affect the fiber tube, but it would take enough heat to render the barrel untouchable to do damage in most instances.