New owner today, jury still out!

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by gatorhugger, Jan 19, 2008.

1. gatorhugger

gatorhugger Banned

Jan 19, 2008
    After weeks of reading everything I could find on this gun, I picked up a chrome one today. $299 +tax. I am a realtor and need something very very small, at least smaller than my Ruger P89 or my Taurus 605 magnum snubbie.

I was very hestitant after reading about fixing this or that and "making it work" and the gun store had many fine guns for 300 bucks that I know would work for my lifetime and here I was getting a plastic one!!! Well I took the plunge. It looks like a second generation and the ramp seemed smooth so I headed for the woods praying it worked. I lightly oiled it to help it along just along the rails, I didn't field strip it first for reasons to follow. Loaded up a clip of Hyra shocks since I read they are slightly smaller and feed better.

First shot, failure to feed second round. Removed it with difficulty since it doesn't have a slide lock. UGGH!! Second shot, same exact thing. Then I noticed that the assembly release rod was pushed up tight against the slide. It was actually removing the chrome upon firing and no doubt slowing down the slide. The molding on the frame has only a small chip of plastic on one side of the rod holding it from pushing all the way to the slide itself. Not good. No way am i getting a cartridge head in there for takedown like the manual says. So I got a small pocket knife and managed to pull it away from the slide. Removed slide, cleaned and oiled. Put assembly rod back in but didn't push it past the tiny ( just a speck of plastic) holding it away from the slide. It now had clearance.