New mag catch

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by bro61, Jan 9, 2009.

1. bro61

bro61 New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    I had to brag and show pics of my new stainless steel mag catch. I've been working on this for a while off and on. Its about my 6th try but got it right this time. I'm glad I have it cause when took out the plastic one it was already worn a little. Even though I replaced it once already and have been being very careful with it.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. What tools did you use to make it?

3. tallpines

tallpines New Member

Jan 8, 2009
    Wow...had one years ago. :cool:

[​IMG]

4. usdm

usdm New Member

Nov 8, 2008
    Did you make that?! :eek:

I've been wondering how much that plastic mag catch can hold up against a metal magazine.

5. bro61

bro61 New Member

Sep 13, 2008
    I'm a machinist so I had a cnc mill at my disposal. Still it took a little hand filing and sanding to make it work properly. I'm going to tweak my programs and try again to make one that will work without any hand work. Besides I may buy another p3at that will need a stainless steel mag catch. It takes a lot of work to make these little buggers, I don't blame the guys who are selling them for charging what they do. I shot it today just to be sure everything was right. It worked perfect. The metal mag catch holds the magazine in the well much tighter. That has to be better for feeding.

6. pedro

pedro New Member

May 28, 2008