Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

New & confused KSG owner

11K views 54 replies 10 participants last post by  BlakeHanson 
#1 ·
Recently purchased a stunning KSG for $966 after tax. Tore it completely down, cleaned the barrel and all internals. I have used Red N Tacky grease instead of standard oil for a couple years. It tends to stay where I put it and has amazing heat resistance.

I added an AFG2 and a Sitemark red dot and was feeling super tacti-cool. Now, I am a Combat Veteran discharged in 2011 and have been around guns most of my life. I have been wanting a KSG since they came out so I am well aware of the ejection issues regarding the bulk, Walmart birdshot. I had seen a few people have luck with them.

I started with some high brass Winchester buckshot. Second round was a FTE. Now I had the KSG for a week and was beyond excited before shooting it so this could’ve likely been a user error. I then loaded up (15) 2-3/4 slugs. Good god! No issues at all except it may have broken my collar bone! Then I started trying to feed some super cheap, Winchester, Walmart special birdshot and yup- every other round was FTE. Was demoralizing and frustrating. I forced roughly 60 through it and gave up. I was hoping I had one of the ‘golden’ models that would eat anything.

Today I went and bought some Federal High-Brass #4 in 2-3/4 and some less expensive Rio Game Load 7.5 birdshot in 2-3/4. I have read here that the cheap Winchester has an aluminum hull that fireforms to the chamber which can make it hard to eject? The Rio Game Loads are a bronze color so is it safe to assume they are steel or brass and should be ok? Will the high brass #4 be ok?

I am hopeful you all can help save me a bit of money by advising what will be best to stay away from?

I have also read you can ‘polish the internals’ to help, but I’m honestly terrified to attempt this. I have a Yugo AK that I sanded down the trigger and rails to smooth out the action, but any guidance?