Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
last time I was at the range my p3at worked great. So, I've been carrying it for about 4 months. I took it to the range today and had some trouble. Right from the get go the gun would hardly fire. I'd pull the trigger back all the way till it touched the frame and it wouldn't fire unless I pulled ridicuoulslly hard. So anyway I took it apart farther than I shold have and I'm trying to get the "hammer block back into the frame with the spring. Appreciate any advice. I found a post about how to do it, but no luck making it work.
thanks,

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
No T.D., he took hammer block (272,273,270)out of the grip along with the spring & pin. I think... I can't help, that would give me a headache .... KT has a tool to help em...,, but it can be done at home.

I know how to put frame back in grip and get hammer block in under hammer, but,,,, .. pistolpete35, someone will be here soon to rescue because we were talking about this 2 weeks ago...I know spring has to have correct tension on it coiled up...

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
i have take many out on a p3at and pf9. it is not hard to get back in. i use a plastic coffee straw. cut the straw about the same size as the pin. put the spring and hammer block on straw and set in place. push pin in side of straw, then cut/pull straw out/away. just work with it and it will work.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
PITA, but I got the hammer block, and spring in the right way and reassembled the gun. So, back to the problem that led me to take it apart in the first place.
I can pull the trigger back till it touches the inside of the trigger guard and it will not fire. I figured there was some type of debree lodged in it, that's why I took it apart. But it was clean. The hammer just will not drop when it's supposed to. If I pull it really hard into the frame it will fire.