Long Term Pocket Carry... 2 FTE (Duds)

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by mxitman, Jul 28, 2008.

1. mxitman

mxitman New Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Well this weekend I finally got to the range, it's been about 4 months since I've shot my P3AT. I wanted to see how it would do in a real world test. I work as a contractor and I'm subject to some nasty areas. I always carry my P3AT in my front pocket of my Carhartt jeans in a uncle mike's size 3 holster. It gets pretty dirty and usually I clean it often but when I went to the range last time I wanted to see how it would do without a regular cleaning or ammo rotation.

I got it out and pulled the trigger: Bang.... pulled again... Poof...what the ? I pulled the mag out then pulled the slide back and the case was still in there. The case didn't eject, I removed it and then checked the barrel for obstructions..all check good. It seemed like the round was under powered. I looked at the extractor..all looked good.

I put the mag back in, loaded a round and shot again. Bang,Bang,Poof! Thats not good!. The same as before, I pulled the mag out then pulled the slide back and the case was still in there. The case didn't eject, I removed it and then checked the barrel for obstructions..all check good. It seemed like the round was under powered again. I looked at the extractor..all looked good.

I had 2 rounds left, I put the mag back in, loaded a round and shot again. Bang,Bang.

I'm not feeling too confident now in using this ammo. I'm using .380 ACP 90 grain Federal HydraShok JHP. I didn't rotate them and they had been banging around in my gun for the last 4 months. I'm not sure what happened, I have had no problems with these rounds before and in fact bought several boxes and tested them before loading them in my P3AT. I ended up shooting another 100 plus rounds of 4 different kinds of 380 ammo...even reloads and had no problems at all, no FTF or FTE on any of the other rounds.