light strike

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by nhkeltec, Dec 29, 2007.

1. nhkeltec

nhkeltec New Member

Dec 27, 2007
    Hello, I went to the range today...had a ball, the gun function very well. I ran different ammo through it with no problems. Really happy. ;D

I didn't let the trigger completely reset and had a light strike with no discharge of the round. The gun Jammed and I could not get the slide to move and was unable to clear the weapon. I was forced to break the slide down to remove the live round. :-/

I am new to the Keltec world...so please any advice on removing an unfired round after a light strike....besides letting the trigger reset ::).

2. TxCajun

TxCajun Administrator Staff Member Supporter

Sep 7, 2004
    Texas
    Simply retract the slide 1/4 inch or so and the hammer will reset allowing you to shoot the round without ejecting it.

3. nhkeltec

nhkeltec New Member

Dec 27, 2007
    That was the problem the slide was jammed. I couldn't move it back far enough to reset the trigger. The slide was basically frozen. Is this normal?

4. nhkeltec

nhkeltec New Member

Dec 27, 2007
    when I removed the round it was dimpled. I later shot the round w/o difficulty.

I pulled the trigger ....heard and felt the click of the trigger firing pin ..no discharge ...slide frozen. Unable to move slide.

Thanks Guys

5. JFB

JFB New Member

Jul 25, 2005
    I just tried mine several time, repeating the light strike. I could not tell any differance in the force required to pull the slide back. I t migh had been a little harder, but nothing I could tell with out using a spring scale :-/

6. nhkeltec

nhkeltec New Member

Dec 27, 2007
    Thanks for the fast reply. This was probably just a freak thing that will never happen again. I am going to try to duplicate light strike and see what happens.