Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
This will be a popular thought for most. I have some thoughts:
  • first is the high prices that HiTech products demand - though some of the products are awesome.
  • next and more important is the 16 oz weight penalty.
  • another is the side holes and the more expensive side rail adapters that are offered for $26 each. I am guessing they are proprietary since they cost more than the other rail adapters. That is a guess since I couldn't see the back side of the rails.

Overall this fixes a lot of things but maybe it is over engineered - seems really thick aluminum, but i'm no product designer.

What I'd like to see is a direct pump charger replacement to save some weight. HiTech mod is a 3 piece product. I have removed the KS7 pump (pic below) and it seems just as easy to build a replacement that eliminates the original longer pieces. This would let the replacement stay thinner and not add bulk in width. Weight may or may not benefit but I'd take 1 lb replacement part that allows me to remove half (?) that.

But this is a great step forward and hopefully other companies follow. I really want a centerline rail attachment and this is an interesting option.

·
Registered
293 Posts
A pump handle assembly like that would be very expensive to make.
The cost of manufacturing the molds and buying the plastic injection molding equipment is shockingly expensive.
Once you buy the equipment it will pay for itself >IF< there's a major market for it that will buy a good many.
Molded plastic is great only if you're going to be making very large amounts.
I doubt that there will be a very big market for a complex KS7 front end enough to pay the costs of producing one.

An aluminum device as shown above by Hitech is actually cheaper to make because they've already bought the CNC machinery to manufacture complex parts.