Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally started to pull the trigger on a 1911. I have a .22lr in 1911 but no true 45. Also I have never used layaway or Buds before. so I guess I killed 3 birds with one stone.

I wanted a entry level 1911 in stainless. Did not really want to pull it out of savings but could swing about $200 a month in fun money so wanted to go the layaway route. Origanally was looking at the Springfield GI, but the local stores did not have any in stock (nor buds). Most people seem satisfied with Buds, and they offer 90 layaway.

Also they have the Remington R1 1911 Stainless for $618 (including insured shipping) and my local guy charges $25. So it looks like I am getting it for $643 OTD.

Not a ton of reviews out there on the R1, espically the stainless, but for the most part what I have seen has been positive for an entry 1911. The only thing I was really hesitate on was that it does not seem to be +p rated, but that was not a deal breaker. A few questions.

1) What can you tell me about the Remington R1 (espically stainless)?
2) Are most entry level 1911s +p rated?
3) Have you used Buds Layaway? How did it go?
4) What can I do to keep my mind off it till I get her out of Jail?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
Here's what I can tell you about the R1....my 14 year old son won one at an NWTF banquet in March! That's about all I know because we've been too busy to take it to the range.

I have a friend that has used Bud's layaway a couple times with very positive experiences.

·
Registered
152 Posts
i haven't heard anything awful about the R1

from those I've looked at and handled, fit and finish was good to very good .
The blue'd models are one of the better looking entry level 1911s I've seen.
I haven't seen any stainless Rem's yet

very few pistols specifically say they're rated for +P,
but nearly all modern pistols can handle +P pressures ...your R1 in no exception.