Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I ordered the G17 grip from Kel-Tec for $50 to replace my G19 version. When it arrives, how complicated is it to change out? Are the grips simply a shell and I remove the screws and take off the old and replace with new? They simply snap in place?

Or do other components become released once I remove the screws, etc? Also will I have to transfer the mag release?

Thank you for any input. Not necessarily a gunsmith by trade. Don't want to get it open and mess something up.

·
Premium Member
17,775 Posts
You'll probably need to transfer the magazine catch. And all of the trigger and hammer parts are in the grip halves. In fact, the barrel and bolt tube are inserted in each end. You'll need to remove the collar that holds the 2 halves to the bolt tube. You are talking about a complete teardown. There is a link in the FAQ to a downloadable PDF for the Gen 1. The internals should be similar enough you can use the step by step guide.

·
Registered
130 Posts
OP - Is it hard? Could be for some and not for others. All of the small parts including springs that want to fly away will be taken out and transferred to the new grips. Things have to go together in the correct way and sometimes in order. Watch the McCarbo video where they show how to install their trigger spring kit. It goes through the entire break down and reinstall of all the parts. They have other Sub 2000 vids too and would be good to watch. This should give you an idea of what's ahead of you. This would be a good time to change out any small parts like the trigger itself if you're so inclined.

[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1esszYk5daw&feature=youtu.be"]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1esszYk5daw&feature=youtu.be[/ame]

·
Registered
656 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·