Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering how often, if at all, should a pf9 be taken past field striping and cleaned and lubed. Also how far should it be taken down. Let me explain. As an example after about six trips to the range with my Ruger 9E, depending how many rounds I put through it at each range trip, I remove the striker and clean it and the striker Channel. I also take down and clean all my mags after a couple of range trips. I don't see the need to do this at every cleaning but I do beleave these things need to be cleaned and maintained. I am new to kel-tec and I was wondering what the recommendations are for the pf9.

·
Registered
9,652 Posts
Hey Poppy,
Welcome to Ktog. Your question doesn't have a simple answer. If it was, it would be 'as often as YOUR gun required'. Do you pocket carry? Does lint build up? Do you live in Arizona or Alabama? Do you work in a quarry or as a landscaper?

Any semi auto pistol is good for one shot. You probably won't need any gun, and in most cases, having any gun will stop the human threat. All gun fights are ended with the last shot. Shot placement can easily make that the first shot.

You see how that silly argument goes on and on?

You need to be confident that your gun will not only go bang, but will go bang until the magazine is empty.

I've not done it on my pf9, but I've pulled the frame out of the grip on my p3. You don't need to take every single part off. If you can pull your carry piece out of your pocket with no extra tlc and empty the mag, that is good. If you try to save money on carry ammo and unload the high dollar rounds and load up some cheaper ammo and wrack the slide a time or two in the process you haven't tested your gun in carry condition.

Unless you are sending many rounds down range I think it would be more helpful to pull the slide and toothbrush clean the lint, relube, and reload the gun on a bi weekly basis.