Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I generally like my Gen2 Sub2000 9mm but have one major issue with it; I find acquiring a good sight picture with the stock iron sights to be EXTREMELY awkward. The idea of smashing my face down so low and forward just doesn't appeal to me and there's got to be a better way of doing this. I'm new to mounts and optics and such having been much more focused on the pistol side of gun ownership, do they make an optic mount that sits up very high? As in way above the iron sights so that I don't have to cram my head down like usual? Thanks!

·
Registered
656 Posts
I faced the same issue... my solution is an EOTech with a factory 7mm
throw lever riser on top of a LaRue 5/8" riser. I left the factory sights as-is.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
154 Posts
I had the same issue. I removed the open sights and now use a red dot only. I mounted my red dot on a 1/2" high throw lever riser. Risers can be gotten in 1/2", 3/4", and 1" (they are cheap).

I use a Bushnell TRS-25 red dot because I can turn it on the low setting and it will last about a year at a time before I do a routine battery change. The same method works with just about any brand of red dot that uses a picatinny base. You do not have to remove the open sights to do this.

My sight is mounted on a Red Lion Precision forend, but mounting on a stock Gen 2 forend is the same - EXCEPT - you may have to use a flat file and flatten the center peak of the rail that is formed by the two halves being bolted together.

:nopics:

so,

Here is a Dead Ringer green dot mounted:

and a scope installed using a cantilever mount:

·
Registered
25 Posts
A great solution for a Gen 2...Midwest Industries (MI) red dot mount for a Primary Arms Advanced Red Dot sight. Darn near perfect!

Ed