Hard Coat Qs

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by roland45, May 16, 2008.

1. roland45

roland45 New Member

May 16, 2008
    Hello Everyone,
    Newbie here with a question about the P3AT hard coat.
    I have a number of other pistols and rifles and a like, but I just bought a new P3AT for Carry.
    The local dealer up the street had 2 P3ATs, 1 that was blue black and one that was a silverish finish
    and black. I saw a pistol just like it on gun broker that was claiming to be a 3rd gen with hard coat.
    I havent seen any threads that in this board to ditingguish the diferent finishes,(that I could find)
    so the question is, if a p3at has a silver top end does that make it hard coated?
    thanks to all who can help,
    sincerly, Roland

2. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member

Dec 25, 2006
    Well, there is no such thing as a 3rd Gen P3AT. But the finish you are likely looking at is called Hard Chrome. It's done for KT by apwcogan.com last I heard. It's for corrosion protection and not appearance, though it does make the appearance nice!

There are also quite a few aftermarket options that are popular on the board here too. One of them is from www.ktaddons.com, another from Jack Fusselier (web not by memory for me) and a lot of do it yourself options.

-Scott

3. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member

Dec 25, 2006
  4. roland45

roland45 New Member

May 16, 2008
    Scott,
    thanks for the quick reply,
    I kinda figured that there was not a 3rd gen p3at, after reading some of this board.
    But here is what is listed on the GnBrker web page when you search for p3at in semi auto pistols.

"Keltec P3AT Hard Chrome! .380ACP! 3rd Gen!"

Description for Item # 99850879