Community for Kel-Tec Shooters banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to KelTec but have been shooting and reloading ammo for over 25 years. I was wondering if there is any problem with using handloads in the P3AT, I have some 95g FMJ and 95g JSP and plan on using WW231 powder.

·
Registered
123 Posts
From what I understand, work up your loads as normal using published data. Check your cases very well. I believe the 3AT has an unsupported chamber and if loaded too hot the cases will start to look like a preggo fish.

G

·
+1 on watching for bulged cases. I do not re-load .380, but the guy that owns my local club property does. I am always picking up brass and looking out for .380 brass for him.

From time to time I will run a mag of Cor-Bon DPX (my carry round) through my 3AT. EVERY Cor-Bon case I find will have a MAJOR bulge out of the 3AT.

I am not sure if it is that the Cor-Bon brass is that much thinner....or the load develops that much more pressure.

If you want.....I can ask him what load he uses.....but he runs a Bersa .380 - not a KT 3AT.

·
Registered
34 Posts
I have loaded with 90 g Hornady XTP with Power Pistol Powder. I think it was 4.5 grains.... but I would have to go back and look. I have not had any problems with the load, but it does have a bark to it! ;)

Cheers

·
Registered
2,818 Posts
When I load for the 380 I use Win231 with 95 gr bullets. Don't remember how many grains. It's a few tenths of a grain less than the max load in the lyman book, just in case the measure throws a load a little heavy.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well I loaded 50 tonight, 95g JSPHB with 3.6g WW231, .970 COAL. I went on the light side for now, will try them in the P3AT tomorrow and see how they run, thanks for the input.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·