Handloads in a P3AT

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by Dilligas, Nov 6, 2008.

1. Dilligas

Dilligas New Member

Nov 6, 2008
    I am new to KelTec but have been shooting and reloading ammo for over 25 years. I was wondering if there is any problem with using handloads in the P3AT, I have some 95g FMJ and 95g JSP and plan on using WW231 powder.

2. JRadice45

JRadice45 New Member

Aug 22, 2008
    From what I understand, work up your loads as normal using published data. Check your cases very well. I believe the 3AT has an unsupported chamber and if loaded too hot the cases will start to look like a preggo fish.

3. +1 on watching for bulged cases. I do not re-load .380, but the guy that owns my local club property does. I am always picking up brass and looking out for .380 brass for him.

From time to time I will run a mag of Cor-Bon DPX (my carry round) through my 3AT. EVERY Cor-Bon case I find will have a MAJOR bulge out of the 3AT.

I am not sure if it is that the Cor-Bon brass is that much thinner....or the load develops that much more pressure.

If you want.....I can ask him what load he uses.....but he runs a Bersa .380 - not a KT 3AT.

4. bazookabert

bazookabert New Member

Dec 29, 2007
    I have loaded with 90 g Hornady XTP with Power Pistol Powder. I think it was 4.5 grains.... but I would have to go back and look. I have not had any problems with the load, but it does have a bark to it! ;)

Cheers

5. zeke

zeke New Member

Dec 20, 2005
    When I load for the 380 I use Win231 with 95 gr bullets. Don't remember how many grains. It's a few tenths of a grain less than the max load in the lyman book, just in case the measure throws a load a little heavy.

6. Dilligas

Dilligas New Member

Nov 6, 2008
    Well I loaded 50 tonight, 95g JSPHB with 3.6g WW231, .970 COAL. I went on the light side for now, will try them in the P3AT tomorrow and see how they run, thanks for the input.

7. bazookabert

bazookabert New Member

Dec 29, 2007