handgun hunting

Discussion in 'The Great Outdoors' started by lop, Aug 15, 2010.

1. lop

lop Active Member

May 20, 2008
    Hi Guys,
    As some of you know, i'm pretty new to guns and hunting. I've decided to leave my long guns home this year and just hunt with my handguns. I figure my .44m is good for 100 yards, and my TC .270 is good out to 200 yards. I realize I'm not the best shot, not anywhere near it, but I'm ok. My question is how to become a better shot? Do I just send more lead down range? Find a guru that is closer than Mandison Wiss? I had picked up a single stalk shooting stick the other day. I went down to my range and, with the .44 shot like poo. I was having problems hittng the paper at 25 yards. Sober. I was going to throw my self a hissy fit, but I was afraid I'd miss. I was sitting at a table with the gun on a rest. go figure. Yesterday I went down and, starting at 15 yards, just stooting out of hand, and backing up to 30 yards, I put 4 of 6 in a 1.5" group, and all 6 of 6 in a 2.5" group. Good shooting for me. I then moved out to 50 and 75 yards and was hitting 10"steet plates.
    Why the inconsistancy? Is there a trick to shooting with a stick? I used Bert's 3stick at KC and that seemed to work fine. I was shooting a 6" s/w 26 with iron sites. The barrel was resting with 2 inches beyond the stick. Should I have that prop right up against the frame? Just spend more time with it? Only look for deer under 10 yards away? ::)
    It's the great outdoors, lets go a hunting!

2. torrent

torrent New Member

Dec 18, 2006