Getting ready to bring SU-22 to Appleseed

Discussion in 'SU-22' started by henktermaat, Aug 14, 2010.

1. henktermaat

henktermaat New Member

Dec 13, 2008
    I'm going to bring the SU-22 to an Appleseed. I Read somewhere that using the large stock magazine would act like a monopod and get you disqualified.

I've been hunting around and figure I'd like to have 2-3 short magazines. I like the 15-rounders that black dog has, but I don't like those prices. The cheapest I've seen for a short magazine has been here: http://www.44mag.com/prodinfo.asp?number=BDMAG ($18 for 10-rounder, $5 shipping)
    Does anyone else know any other sources for these?

I also need a GI sling. I have zero sling experience - Has anyone here attached a GI sling to their SU-22, and can you post pics/experiences?

2. Whodat

Whodat New Member

Jun 20, 2008

3. Liberty4Ever

Liberty4Ever Moderator Supporter

May 19, 2006
    Lexington KY
    I've shot some unofficial Appleseed with my SU-22C (Appleseed friend giving me some second hand training) and the 27 round mags are a major disadvantage when shooting prone IMO. The SU-22 is too high, and rather than acting as a bi-pod, the rifle is teetering on top of the magazine in a very unstable configuration. I like the 15 round mags much better for shooting prone or off the bench.

I bought magazines directly from Black Dog, and no surprise, the 44MAG.com prices are MUCH better.

http://www.44mag.com/category/black_dog_machine

Palmetto State has good prices too.

http://palmettostatearmory.com/BDM.php

For Appleseed, you really need the 50 round drum. :D Someone should make flip down legs to make it function like a bi-pod, so the SU-22 can be used like a mini SAW. :)

http://www.44mag.com/product/50_drum/black_dog_machine