FTE Galore

Discussion in 'P-3AT' started by rls1158, Oct 19, 2007.

1. rls1158

rls1158 New Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Ok guy (& gals) I need some good advice. Here's the scenario:

I bought my new .380 a few days ago, brought it home, cleaned, oiled, and greased it. Assuming it was there to begin with, I lost the ejector. Have already ordered another one from KT.

In a different discussion several of you told me to go ahead and shoot it without the ejector and I probably would only have problems with ejecting the last casing. I rarely had that particular experience.

I had a couple of complete FTEs but the majority of the time the casing would hang up as it was being ejected (about half way out).

The slide also seemed to bind just a bit (but not completely) and I figured that was part of the break in time.

I've been shooting for over 40 years but this is my first KT, my first .380, and my first pocket gun.

I took the gun back to the gun shop where I bought it and they had no clue. I've learned a lot more in this forum than they've been able to tell me. According to them, they've never had a problem with their KT .380s. The sold me a box of Magtech 95gr FMC at half price and suggested I go back to the range (which I haven't done yet).

I used two magazines, both from KT and had the same problem using both. I fired 36 rounds of Fiocchi 95 gr FMJ and 36 rounds of Monarch 94 gr FMJ. Had the same problem with both brands.

I need suggestions before I have another frustrating day at the range.

Thanks,
    Reggie :)

2. gpr

gpr New Member

Jan 6, 2005
    north palm beach
    guessing second gen...check and make sure the extractor screw is tight...second check the fit of the chamber with a couple of different ammo...oh what the hell, polish the ramp and chamber....gpr

3. rls1158

rls1158 New Member

Oct 18, 2007
    Thanks gpr. Yes it's a second generation. I failed to mention that the magazines kept jumping out of place as well.

4. adamsesq

adamsesq New Member